Professionals Committee

Association of Adaptive Surfing Professionals

Stoke for Life Foundation is a 501 c3 nonprofit (EIN# 81-1207879) geared towards ocean therapy and adaptive water sports, SFL created the U.S. Open ASC and the classification structure that is now recognized worldwide. Stoke for Life Foundation has initiated the structure and leadership team put together to build the international governing body for professional adaptive surfing known as the “Association of Adaptive Surfing Professional” or A.A.S.P.

Association of Adaptive Surfing Professionals Competition Committee

A.A.S.P. Competition Committee is comprised of a Chair of the committee and two representatives from each event:

Creator of AASP format and U.S. Open ASC Representative: Charles Webb
Qualifications: Founder of Stoke for Life Foundation, creator of U.S. Open Adaptive Surfing Championship, co-creator of U.S. Open Classification structure w/Dr. Maureen Johnson PhD, MS, OT/L, BCPR, C/NDT, 2014 WSA Adaptive Surfing Champion (waveski)

U.S. Open ASC Representative: James McDonald
Qualifications: co-Founder of Stoke for Life Foundation, Logistics Manager, Contest Coordinator “Bud Surf Tour (1984-1999) Logistics Manager U.S. Surfing (1984-1999) Contest Coordinator of over 220 professional surf tour events including U.S. Open of Surfing, OP Pro, Bud Surf Tour Makaha and Ala Moana, current Contest Coordinator U.S. Open ASC

Hawaiian ASC Representatives: Richard Julian
Qualifications: Founder of AccesSurf Hawaii, Co-creator of Hawaiian Adaptive Surfing Championships, Captain of the Hawaiian Adaptive Surf TeamEric Welton: Board of Directors AccesSurf, Owner/operator North Shore Prosthetics, Hawaiian Adaptive Surf Team Member

Committee Chair Roy Tuscany
Qualifications: Founder of High Fives Foundation

AASP Classification Committee

Director: Mo Johnson, PhD, MS, OT/L, BCPR, C/NDT
Jessica Armes, MOT, OTR/L
Rebecca Askew, MSPT, NCS
Kim Canterbury, PT
Helen Chen, PT, DPT
Heather David, PT, Ed.D, MPT, NCS
Marissa Gonzalez, MOT, OTR/L
Kate Koschei, MS, OTR/L
LeeAnne Robotta, DPT, PT